Velcro Dog

IMG_1007

[Australian shepherds] are often called “velcro dogs” for their strong desire to always be near their owners and their tendency to form intense, devoted bonds with select people. – Wikipedia article about Australian shepherds (Accessed November 8, 2015)

It has taken some time to get used to being around a velcro dog again.

Let’s say I’m at my desk, and there’s a knock at the door. The door is five feet to my left.

I get up.
Hey, I’ll go with you! Who’s out there?

While at the door, a timer beeps in the kitchen. The roasted vegetables are done. I walk the fifteen feet to the oven.
Hey, I’ll go with you! What’s happening? Is that for me?

I put the roasted vegetables on the stove and need to put a utensil in the sink, five feet away.
Let’s go!

Time to go back to the desk. I start off.
Hey, I’ll—
One step later, I realize I meant to put on dry shoes when I came inside a half hour ago. I turn around and head to the bedroom, another 10 feet away.
Hey, I’ll get up on the bed while I wait! I can kiss your face while you’re sitting! Throw my pink hippo for me!

It’s getting dark, so I go around the foot of the bed to turn my bedside light on.
Hey, can I come?
The clearance at the foot of the bed is only about eighteen inches, so Rain has to back up on my way out, as there’s no way for us to pass.

Then I walk back to my desk…
Here I am, Heather! I’ll be right at your feet in case you need me. Resting against your foot. After all, I need to know you’re there.

And so on.

When I take Rain to the home she actually lives in, she tends to glare at me. ಠ_ಠ She does NOT want me leaving without her, and has many tactics to make sure that happens.

Surely I can escape to the bathroom in peace, right? WRONG. A velcro dog is never off duty! If a velcro dog owner tries to use the bathroom by herself, she will frequently see a scene like this or this.

Rain tends to turn it up to 11. She can’t just rest her head on me while snoozing, she needs to rest it so far up on my chest I cannot see past her, ensuring all my attention is on her. If I’m petting Skye, she’ll wedge her body between us in a way that blocks Skye’s access to me. Even if I’m just moving back and forth between the sink and the stove in my very small kitchen, she’ll follow me every step of the way.

I think she likes me!

 

Leave a Reply

